Rosemary Lyster Named in this Year’s Financial Review ‘100 Women of Influence’

Professor Rosemary Lyster, SEI Researcher and Professor of Climate and Environmental Law at the University of Sydney Law School, has been named as one of the 2018 The Australian Financial Review 100 Women of Influence.

Rosemary was selected from a record number of 850 entries, in the category of ‘public policy’ for her work on energy and climate law.

Rosemary’s concern for the victim of climate disasters in developed and developing countries led her to become an expert in the area of climate law and climate disaster law, and in 2015 she was appointed by the Victorian government to a three-person independent review committee to review the state’s Climate Change Act 2010. The government accepted 32 of the IRC’s 33 Recommendations.

Rosemary heads up the Australian Centre for Climate and Environmental Law at the University, and is the Energy and Water Special Editor of the Environmental Planning and Law Journal, the leading environmental law journal in Australia. She is a member of the IUCN – The World Conservation Union Commission on Environmental Law, comprising environmental lawyers from around the world and a member of the Commission’s Special Working Groups on Water and Wetlands, Energy and Climate Change, and Forests.

Rosemary was one of two women from the University of Sydney nominated on this year’s list. Dr Nicky Ringland from the School of Information Technologies was also nominated, for her work on computer science education, including her work empowering young women to pursue careers in STEM and computer science.

The 100 Women of Influence are nominated across ten categories, with the aim of “identifying a diverse group of women championing change in business and society”.

Nominees this year were selected for their demonstrated competency of “self-leadership through challenges and hardships.”

The winners of each of the ten categories and the overall winner will be announced at a gala dinner in Sydney on October 17.

The full list of nominees can be found here.