SEI Co-Director David Schlosberg Awarded a Payne-Scott Professorial Distinction

Congratulations to SEI Co-Director Professor David Schlosberg, who is one of five distinguished professors at the University of Sydney to be awarded a Payne-Scott Professorial Distinction, for his outstanding contributions to environmental politics.

The 2017 awardees were nominated by their colleagues in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the University community across all areas of leadership, teaching and research; contributing to educational reform and innovation; and for playing a major role in community engagement and public debate.

Vice-Chancellor Dr Michael Spence noted that the winners of the Payne-Scott Professorial Distinction “represent a broad range of academic disciplines, but they have something special in common: over a significant period of time, each of our awardees has demonstrated academic leadership that is imbued with teaching and research excellence and reflective of our University’s values.”

SEI would like to give congratulations to the following professors to also be awarded a Payne-Scott Professorial Distinction:

Nalini Joshi, Professor and Chair of Applied Mathematics, Faculty of Science and Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellow.

Judith Kay, Professor of Computer Science and Chair of the Human-centred technology cluster, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies

Philip Poronnik, Professor of Biomedical Sciences (Educational Strategy), Sydney Medical School.

Tania Sorrell, Professor of Clinical Infectious Diseases, Marie Bashir Institute for Infectious Diseases and Biosecurity, and Head of Westmead Clinical School.

The awards will be given at a graduation ceremony Friday, 8 December, at 11:30am in the Great Hall.